Press "Enter" to skip to content

blast-o-rama. Posts



Disney is exploring a reboot of its billion dollar Pirates of the Caribbean franchise. The studio has met with the writing team of Rhett Reese & Paul Wernick and they are in early talks to write the script. Reese & Wernick are the writers behind the first two Deadpool blockbusters, and before that wrote Zombieland and its sequel, and 6 Underground, the action film that Michael Bay is directing for Netflix with Ryan Reynolds starring.

Those first two did rule pretty hard.

Maybe we can finally drop Johnny Depp this time?

Rumors Abound for the Marvel Attractions Coming to Disney California Adventure

WDW News Today:

While construction has already begun on a MARVEL Super Hero themed land at Disney California Adventure, details have been scarce on exactly what will be located in this land come 2020. As Disney stated, 2020 will bring about phase 1 of the land, with a planned 2nd phase following a year or two later. If there are plans beyond these two phases, they aren’t green-lit just yet and it’s unclear exactly where further attractions and such will go (although the removal of more of Hollywood Land seems likely). Let’s not get too far ahead of ourselves and focus on what’s already in the works…

A nice breakdown of what’s coming.

I, of course, am most excited about the Spider-Man attraction, but I bet that Avengers-coaster is going to blow minds.

Steve Carell To Join Apple’s Jennifer Aniston / Reese Witherspoon Newsroom Drama

The Hollywood Reporter:

Steve Carell is returning to television.

The Office alum has booked the male lead in Apple’s untitled morning show drama starring Jennifer Aniston and Reese Witherspoon. The casting, which marks Carell’s first series regular role since he wrapped the NBC comedy in 2011, marks the latest high-profile star to join an Apple series.

Sweet deal. Look forward to watching it for free on all my iStuff.

Target Leaks Full LEGO OVERWATCH Line

The Brothers Brick:

Target has today revealed all six of the LEGO sets from the upcoming LEGO Overwatch line, based on the hit team-based video game from Blizzard. This follows the early release of the small-scale mecha 75987 Omnic Bastion from Blizzard’s online store. The full-size sets include minifigures of iconic characters such as Tracer, D.Va, and more.

That D.Va and Reinhardt set rules!

Intellivison Is Back Because What the Hell Why Not


The newly announced Intellivision Amico will bring retro classics and some to-be-announced titles to homes in 2020, Intellivision Entertainment announced Monday.

I mock, but this idea of their plan to continue to exist as a platform is clever:

All of the games released for the Intellivision Amico will be rated E for Everyone. Intellivision Entertainment will be the fourth video game console company (alongside Microsoft, Nintendo, and Sony) to join the Entertainment Software Association. Games will be priced quite reasonably at $2.99 to $7.99 apiece, with no downloadable content.

Accessibility, and the lack of wallet-preying DLC is a clever approach.

But I don’t know if it will be enough to stand against the big three, or mobile gaming.